Amos King on MUDs, Architecture, Domain-driven design, and Military Bases

About this Episode

Published July 2, 2020 | Duration: 55:23 | RSS Feed | Direct download
Transcript: English

Today’s guest is Amos King, Principal CEO at Binary Noggin, and host on the Elixir Outlaws and This Agile Life podcasts. This episode is centered around a casual conversation about everything from programming, the military, sarcasm, and puns to systems and application architecture, domain-driven design, and bitmasks. Amos shares with us how he got into programming, after wanting to be a doctor or an engineer first, and tells us how he met Famous Amos. We talk about spectrum analyzers, Elixir resources, and MUDs, as well as type-first design and Haskell. Amos gives us his takes on domain-driven design, API, booleans, and enums, and even roasts his co-host Chris Keithley a little. Don’t miss this episode for everything you’ve ever wanted to know about the legendary Amos King (and a whole lot more)!

Key Points From This Episode:

  • Amos explains what Adkron means, which is his gaming and social media handle.
  • Where the name Elixir Outlaws for the podcast came from.
  • How Amos got into programming as a career, after wanting to be a surgeon and an engineer.
  • What Amos’s first opportunity as a programmer was, and how he met Wally Amos.
  • Amos explains what a spectrum analyzer is, based on his experience in the military.
  • Amos shares why Steve Bussey’s book, Real-Time Phoenix, is his favorite Elixir resource.
  • Eric and Amos talk about the MUD engine that they worked on together.
  • What systems and application architecture means to Amos and how it differs from design.
  • What type-first design (TFD) is and Amos’s opinion on it as a thought exercise.
  • Amos talks about Haskell programming and domain-driven design.
  • Relating domain-driven design to a car dealership to describe types and terminology.
  • Amos talks a bit about his company and what they do.
  • Justus, Eric, and Amos debate the term “architect” and what it actually means.
  • Amos shares his take on API architecture, booleans, enums, and bitmasks.
  • Amos gives his hot take on his co-host Chris Keithley.

Links Mentioned in Today’s Episode:

Amos King on Twitter — https://twitter.com/adkron
Elixir Outlaws Podcast — https://elixiroutlaws.com/
Wally Amos — https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wally_Amos
Windows 3.0 — https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_3.0
Real-Time Phoenix on Pragmatic Bookshelf — https://pragprog.com/book/sbsockets/real-time-phoenix
Elixir School — https://elixirschool.com/en/
Elixir Inaction — https://twitter.com/gausby/status/986550202248187904
This Agile Life Podcast — https://www.thisagilelife.com/
Screen — https://screen.so/#/home
Haskell Book — https://haskellbook.com/
Binary Noggin Website — https://binarynoggin.com/
Binary Noggin on Twitter — https://twitter.com/BinaryNoggin
SmartLogic — https://smartlogic.io/
Justus Eapen on Twitter — https://twitter.com/justuseapen
Eric Oestrich — https://oestrich.org/
Kalevala — https://github.com/oestrich/kalevala
Eric Oestrich on Twitter — https://twitter.com/ericoestrich
Eric Oestrich on GitHub — https://github.com/oestrich

Special Guest: Amos King.